h1

“haloo”

Thursday, December 28, 2006

There’s a shadow over there, and another one, just behind that column… oh my god! I’m going crazy… get a grip… It’s all too damn different, the don’t have any benches, of course they don’t have any… It’s orthodox… It’s very silent, there are a few elderly women around, they don’t seem to mind my presence though, I am trying to keep a low profile here…

Later… I’m having a walk around what I’ve been calling home lately, this apartment block near the city’s shopping center… There are a lot of people around, some of them seem drunk, I think these guys got a little carried away for Christmas… Yes… I have decided, I will make the call… It’s just a matter of minutes…

Upstairs, by the phone… where did I put it?… got it:
….ringing…..ringing…….ringing…
– “halooo….”
– Hello!
– ….. (I don’t understand, she’s not speaking english)
– I’m sorry…. We’ve met on the train… I thought I’d give you a call…
(a brief moment of silence)
– Alex?!
– Yes… It’s me
– How did you get my phone number?!
– Well… I’m sorry… I took it while you weren’t looking…
– ahm…
– Well… I just wanted to ask if you would like to grab a cup of coffee with me later… You know I am new around here…
– I don’t know…
(the discussion carried on a little bit)
– Ok… where do you want us to meet?
(we settled for my favorite coffee shop at 8 PM)

We had a great time, she’s not only very beautiful but also very smart… I really enjoyed her company, I haven’t felt this way in a while… I don’t know if it’s a good idea for us to meet again though, she doesn’t really know anything about me… and I am surely too afraid to explain her the true reason for me being here… But I really want to see her again, and she’s the only person I know, at least I have one now…

Leave a Reply

